TFA Berserker

So today, I ended up feeling bummed out due to some events this afternoon, and when I tried to draw in-betweens for animation project, I realize I cannot draw them well in this state. So instead I decide to draw some vent art to get it out of my system.

Initially it’s just some random sketches of Cybertronians “crying”. In my headcanon, whenever a Cybertronian is under extreme emotions (eg. anger, sadness, fear, etc), bolts of plasma would be shot out from their optics and even their bodies, as to get the extra energy out to prevent overloading. It is partially inspired by how Tailgate from MTMTE “cry”.

Ref

But then I drew a scene. A self indulgent scene where TFA Megatron goes berserk to his enemies (the Quintessons from my AU), presumedly due to either frustration of progress or anger for his fallen comrades. That’s when I realized the pose and sketch itself holds too much potential to be ignored. And so I continued inking, putting more effort in inking the lines and the shading, along with the plasma around him. I have not done much research to the lightning patterns, so it may not look too convincing. Also since I go for quick sketch nowadays, not much long term planning is put in, and I had to navigate between drawing plasma and the Con himself. I’m glad it look decent insofar.

Pencil Sketch
First Inking
Second Inking
Shading added

Afterwards, I decide to draw the colour red. Being uncertain, I draw the plasma red, then afterwards, I drew the red parts of the character. And finally, I drew the character with warm grey.

Red Plasma
Entirely Red
Grey colour added

Insofar, I find the warm grey a little regretable, as I feel it takes away the intensity of the “Red Only + BW Lines” version. Perhaps I may not be able to draw the plasma correctly without digital tools, but still it’s a nice attempt. I like it insofar.

One thought on “TFA Berserker

Leave a Reply

